Skip to content

#31DNP Day 2 – Orange You Glad I Bought A Matte Top Coat

September 2, 2012
Matte Orange Nails

Matte Orange Nails

I want to start this off by saying that I never realized how similar all my oranges are. No, this isn’t me admitting that they’re all the same because they’re not, they are all different and I need them. They’re all just similar shades and if I tried to do a look using all of them it would be hard to because to the untrained eye they would just look like the same color layered over itself. Why am I telling you this? Because I spent the night over at Colin’s house last night and just brought over my orange polishes instead of ALL of them. It seemed like the smart and efficient thing at the time (I swear!), but it just made everything impossible. I even made Colin drive me to Target last night so I could pick up a few oranges, but everything there was WAY too similar to what I had already brought. WHY AREN’T THERE MORE VARIED SHADES OF ORANGE? I did however end up picking up a few top coats, one of which pretty much saved my butt from posting the ugliest manicure I’ve ever done.

Matte Polka Dot Nails

For this manicure I paired Essie Braziliant and the NYC Matte Me Crazy top coat. I painted on three coats of Essie Braziliant (for the first time ever actually) and then topped it of with one coat of NYC Matte Me Crazy. Then I dipped my dotting tool into Braziliant and made a polka dot accent finger and some polka dot french tips. Voila! Isn’t she beautiful? I think to properly understand why this manicure seems like utter perfection you have to know what I went through to get to it. I wanted to do a Charmander (you know, the pokemon) manicure soooo badly, but my Charmander ended up looking less like an adorable little lizard and more like an ugly potato mutant. So I scrapped it and decided to try a geometric manicure, but my nail art pen bled all over my fingers and it looked less like clean white lines and more like I had tried to paint my nails with white out. Then I tried it again, but with stripes and the same thing happened. I honestly thought about posting my hideous “white out” nails and just calling it quits for today, but then I caught a glance at my new matte top coat and let out a sigh of relief. As for the polka dots? Polka dots are my comfort zone.

Essie Braziliant and NYC Matte Me Crazy top coat

I was actually pretty overjoyed when I saw this top coat (and it was only $0.94!) because I’ve been looking for Essie Matte About You for the past WEEK! I didn’t even know NYC made a matte top coat! I know, I know most people hate matte polishes, but I LOVE them. More specifically I love the paring of a matte and glossy finish. Maybe I’m just easily amused, but I could look at matte/glossy manicures all day! However, while I did like the orange and matte pairing I’m not sure if I’ll ever do it again. I think I like the more dramatic pairing of matte and a darker color like black or a very dark purple.

So what do you think? Nailed It or Failed It? How do you feel about matte top coats? What’s you favorite shade of orange?

31 Day Nail Art ChallengeIf you want to join you can get an awesome 31 Day Challenge Graphic courtesy of Chalkboard Nails and post your entries over at Polished Criminals so that everyone else can see them!


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

