Skip to content

Summer To-Do #5: Friendship Bracelet Tutorial (Sunshine Diamonds)

July 17, 2012

#5. Make a friendship bracelet

Sunshine Diamonds Friendship Bracelet

About a year ago I went to Hobby Lobby with my friend Hannah to pick up supplies for Colin’s birthday presents. During that trip I found a friendship bracelet kit on sale for $2.00 and decided to pick it up. I’m not really sure why I procrastinated making the bracelets for so long. It probably had to do with me losing the pack in my purse for 7 months and then losing it even more in my room. Or most likely because of the fact that I’d never made a friendship bracelet in my life and I didn’t want to take the time to learn. Thankfully for me I was really (and I mean really) bored last Friday and friendship bracelets are still as “in” as they were last summer.

Leisure Arts Friendship Bracelet Pack

Now the pack that I bought was from Leisure Arts. It came with six different colors of floss and a page with instructions on how to make six different bracelets. The instructions were helpful, but I found myself looking at the picture and trying to figure it out more often than I would’ve liked to and when I turned to the internet I found nothing. So I thought I would be helpful and make my own little tutorial for the first one I ever made, Sunshine Diamonds

Tutorial

You Need:

  • 2 – 36 in. strands of 4 different colors of embroidery floss
  • a clipboard, tape or a safety pin

Sunshine Diamonds Bracelet

Sunshine Diamonds Friendship Bracelet Tutorial

click the photo to enlarge

Transcript

Warning – It’s a bit technical so the jokes are minimal. D:

  1. Tie the end leaving 4 – 5 in. of floss free. Arrange the strands in this order: C1, C2, C3, C4, C4, C3, C2, C1. C being the color.
  2. Make 3 left knots toward the center using left C1 (onto C2, C3, C4 in order), and then 3 right knots towards the center using right C1 (onto C2, C3, C4 in order).
  3. Make a right knot with right C1 onto left C1. You just made your first “V.”
  4. Continue making 3 left knots towards the center and 3 right knots towards the center (closing the “V” with a right knot) with each color until C1 is the outside color again. You should have 4 “V’s” of your colors.
  5. Make 2 left knots with left C1 onto C2. This means you will tie 4 times on the same strand. Do the same of the right side with 2 right knots with right C1 onto C2.
  6. Take your left C4 (in the center) and make 3 right knots towards the left side (onto C3, C2, C1 in order) and then take your right C4 and make 4 left knots toward the right (onto C3, C2, C1 in order). C4 Should now be your outermost color on both sides.
  7. Take your left C3 (now your center color) and make a left knot onto the right C3. Now take your left C3 and make 2 right knots towards the left side (onto C2, C1 in order) and then take your right C3 and make 2 left knots towards the right side (onto C2, C1 in order). C3 should NOT be the outer most color, the color order should be C4, C3, C1, C2 on the left side C2, C1, C3, C4 on the right side.
  8. Take your left C2 (now your center color) and make a left knot onto the right C2. Now take your left C2 and make 1 right knot towards the left side (onto C1) and then take your right C2 and make 1 left knot towards the right side (onto C1). Color order: C4, C3, C2, C1, C1, C2, C3, C4.
  9. Take your left C1 (now your center color) and make a left knot onto the right C1. This makes the center dot of your diamond.
  10. Take your left C2 and make a left knot onto the left C1. Take your right C2 and make a right knot onto the right C1. Then take your left C2 and make a left knot onto the right C2. This closes the diamond.
  11. Take your left C3 and make 2 left knots towards the center (onto C1, C2 in order) then take your right C3 and make 2 right knots towards the center (onto C1, C2 in order). Then take your left C3 and make a left knot onto the right C3.
  12. Take your left C4 and make 2 left knots towards the center (onto C1, C2, C3 in order) then take your right C4 and make 2 right knots towards the center (onto C1, C2, C3 in order). Then take your left C4 and make a left knot onto the right C4.
  13. Repeat steps 1 – 12 until the bracelet is as long as you want it.
  14. Tie, cut off excess, and braid the ends.
  15. Wear it, of course!
2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2016 10:13 am

    That’s a really awesome text! i’m from Brazil and I love your blog, save in my favorites to check every week.

Trackbacks

  1. 10 Friendship Bracelet Tutorials • FYI by Tina

Leave a Reply

