Skip to content

Happy Second Day of Summer!

June 21, 2012

Florida Picture 2010

From our Florida vacation two years ago (2010)

It’s officially summer now! Not that that really means anything here in Arizona, it’s been hot here since mid March. Colin and I haven’t really been up to anything so far. We spent most of the first day of summer watching Avatar: The Last Airbender from the safety of an air-conditioned living room waiting for the sun to set before taking a dip in the pool.

I’m usually a bikini type of girl. They’re cute, they’re fun, and they’re easy to mix and match. But this year I wanted to try something different like a one-piece, but it wasn’t that easy. It was almost impossible to find a suit I loved that was under $100 and the ones I found in my price range were either a horrible fit (like, more than just a nip-slip horrible) and the rest were just a little too skanky for my taste. Not only that, but they made me look, well, a little… chubby. Maybe it was because I don’t have a one-piece friendly body type or maybe it was because I always ended up trying on suits after eating a huge lunch, but finding a flattering one-piece is HARD! Harder than finding a flattering bikini. There! I said it!

Don’t worry though, this story has a happy ending. After a random trip to Old Navy I came across this pretty thing:

Old Navy Printed String Tie Swimsuit

IT WAS PERFECT! Cute without looking slutty and the zig zag pattern definitely hid any potential food baby bumps. Not to mention it was super cheap at only $20!

I loved it so much that I try to incorporate it into my outfits too. Here’s a close approximation of something I actually wear. :)

Fun fact: I own those shoes!

Summer Day 2012 by lifeofcarbon featuring cross body handbags

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

