Skip to content

30DBH Day 8 – For The Love of God

April 13, 2012

Day 08 — If I could afford it, the piece of famous artwork you would find in my home is…

Part of me wants to say the Mona Lisa or maybe Monet‘s Vétheuil in the Fog, but I would be lying if I didn’t say that I would rather just own this:

For the Love of God by Damien Hirst (2007)

For the Love of God by Damien Hirst (2007) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

For the Love of God is a sculpture by artist Damien Hirst produced in 2007. It consists of a platinum cast of a human skull encrusted with 8,601 flawless diamonds, including a pear-shaped pink diamond located in the forehead. Costing £14 million to produce, the work went on display at the White Cube gallery in London in an exhibition Beyond belief with an asking price of £50 million. This would have been the highest price ever paid for a single work by a living artist

Wikipedia Article

Maybe I should DIY one. Without the actual human skull and diamonds of course.

30 Days of Blogging Honestly, or 30DBH as I like to call it, is a monthly project of sorts where you must answer 30 questions honestly throughout the month of April 2012. Here’s my post explaining it and here’s a list of other participants.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2012 4:53 pm

    I think it is beautiful for what it is worth but very ugly at the same time!

    • April 14, 2012 12:19 am

      I just think that it would make a very beautiful statement piece. It’s so shiny and diamonds are pretty classy.

  2. April 13, 2012 5:42 pm

    wow that is one way to make an otherwise scary thing likeable! that artist is damn creative!

  3. bannatreasures permalink
    April 18, 2012 1:39 pm

    an interesting choice but gotta admit I would totally freak out if I visited you or something and saw that XD

Leave a Reply

