Skip to content

30DBH Day 6 – Cooking Disasters

April 11, 2012

Day 06 — My worst cooking disaster involved _____________ and this person/these people…

I really like to cook, but it hasn’t always been that way. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve always liked, no, LOVED food. Especially the eating part of it. Back when we had cable (a loooong time ago) the channel never really strayed from the Food Network. Despite my hate of cooking back in my younger days I still loved watching others cook https://lifeofcarbon.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=2370&action=editdelicious dishes, mostly because I could then pester my mom to make them for me.

I’m not really sure if I should be embarrassed or ashamed of this, but one of the reasons I decided to embrace my love of food and try my hand at cooking was probably because Colin and I started dating. Partly because I wanted to impress him, but also partly because I had stopped seeing the actual act of making food as demeaning “woman’s work” and as the amazing process that it really is. Since my journey of trying to master food started with Colin, he’s been my loyal companion. Most of the big recipes I’ve attempted I’ve attempted with him and because of our inexperience most of the recipes I’ve completely failed have also been with him too.

There was that time in the first few months that we started dating that we ambitiously attempted to make mayonnaise. It, whatever it was, tasted horrible and I’m surprised we didn’t get salmonella. Then there was that time for Thanksgiving where we tried to make an apple pie, but somehow we ended up not using enough sugar. It was super sour and the crust was mushy and it made me want to cry. We also found a way to mess up a boxed cake mix by forgetting to butter the pan. It crumbled and we had to hold the cake together with icing and raspberry jam. D:

It’s okay though because we usually learn our lesson. Usually.

30 Days of Blogging Honestly, or 30DBH as I like to call it, is a monthly project of sorts where you must answer 30 questions honestly throughout the month of April 2012. Here’s my post explaining it and here’s a list of other participants.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2012 1:10 pm

    All great mistakes. The important thing is that you are trying and that you no longer see it as demeaning.

  2. April 11, 2012 2:29 pm

    Cooking is not as natural as it is made to sound :)

  3. April 11, 2012 8:12 pm

    It’s nice that you have someone to try out this cooking journey with – it’s nice to succeed with someone and it’s just as nice to fail massively with someone!

  4. bannatreasures permalink
    April 18, 2012 1:36 pm

    Sounds fun to cook with someone though! But wow making mayo, not the very first thing that’d pop into my head about what to make haha!

Leave a Reply

