Skip to content

Blogiversary I – Crap I Want To Accomplish

March 7, 2012

Mariana and Colin

Welcome to day 3 of my first blogiversary! Usually on Wednesdays I post a list of things that I want to accomplish before my second blogiversary! [fingers crossed]

Recently my interest has shifted a little more over to vlogging. I love how engaging it can be and I love the fact that you can see my face and hear my voice and I feel like I can get my message across much better. I don’t want to shift over to vlogging permanently, but I wouldn’t be surprised if the bulk of the content I create over the next few months is in video form. That being said I still want to post here! I said in one of my past posts that I want to have a five post per week schedule where most of the posts are short, but still leaving some room for more content filled posts like DIYs and Recipes which I feel are easier to follow in post format.

Now that we got that out of the way let’s get to some goals!

My Goals

1. Redesign! – By this I mean new header, new about me picture, and maybe some cute social network icons! I’m not sure yet if I want to change the theme because in my opinion Pilcrow is the best free theme that WordPress offers and it’s the one that I always keep coming back to! Not that I wouldn’t love to have a much cute theme, but self-hosting isn’t really something I want to/can pay for right now and the premium themes are also out of my reach. For now, at least! Maybe next year? ;) I’m super excited to come up with a new color scheme and maybe re-write my about me description. I absolutely LOVE tweaking this blog. It’s like getting a new outfit or a new pair of shoes. Speaking of which I posted my first video over at Mariana’s Closet just in case you wanted to watch it.

2. Longer Posts – Like I mentioned above, most of my posts during the week are going to be short and sweet (ex: a few pictures and maybe some thoughts) just so I don’t burn out as quickly, also the internet is giving me a short attention span… Despite that I do want to have a few more thoughtful posts. I really want to try to have a 700-1000+ word post other than recipes or DIYs at least once a month and give you guys something to read. I want to share some stories you guys from before I started this blog. You know, stories from my childhood or from marching band. I should probably make a list before I forget…

3. Engage More – I’m horrible at engaging people and not just on here, but also on the rest of the blogosphere. It’s not that I don’t want to leave comments or that I don’t have anything to say, it’s just that I don’t want to leave a redundant comment or a comment that says nothing more than “nice post.” Now this is just stupid because as a blogger I absolutely LOVE getting comments not matter how redundant/short they are because it means that somebody READ what I WROTE. It’s like getting a small high-five. Not just that, I always see a spike in views and comments whenever I decide to take the time to leave an insightful comment on another blog. Plus I feel like a legitimate blogger whenever I talk to other bloggers. It’s like I’m part of a community or something… I’d love to not only engage you guys more often by asking you more questions and having more in-depth conversations with you guys, but also engage the rest of the community by leaving more comments on other blogs.

And that’s basically it. In the “grand scheme of things” this blog is like my home page on the internet where people can come and visit whenever they’re curious about what the heck I’m up to and where I am on the internet. :)

What do you think about vlogging? Do you watch the videos or do you guys skip them? Do you have a favorite wordpress theme you’d like to recommend to me or a story you’d like to hear? Are you a bad commenter just like me or does commenting come easy to you? I’d love to hear from you and I can’t wait to see what you think of tomorrow’s post!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2012 9:06 pm

    High five my friend. I look forward to all you do.

    • March 7, 2012 9:23 pm

      YEAH! :D
      High-fives for all.

      • March 8, 2012 8:30 am

        It sounds like you have a lot of work ahead of you and I look forward to more interaction on both blogs! Much respect to you.

  2. March 7, 2012 11:56 pm

    Vlogging? Wooh, that gives me the shivers. I’ll just leave it to the pros – like you. As for the WP theme, I’ve been using Thirteen since I started. I fell in love with it the first time I saw it and I still am in love with it. So, I’m not gonna be changing to another theme anytime soon. Am I a bad commenter? I think it’s for the writer of that post to say. I love to drop comments, not because I want them to drop comments on mine too, but that’s my way of showing that I can relate to what they wrote. I just try to be as engaging as I can.

    Sometimes though, I’m at loss for words. After all, I don’t have all the great things to say. I just read it thoroughly, smile, and hit the Like button. I never want to be an anonymous reader.

    So, you tell me. Am I a bad commenter?

    Like Tom, I am also looking forward to the changes you will soon be making. I can see myself borrowing some ideas. :D

    • March 8, 2012 12:18 am

      I really like vlogging. It’s fun to take an idea and to make it happen. I think it’s because I’ve always wanted to be a bit of a “performer” I just never had room in my schedule when I was in high school to be in drama.

      Not at all. You’re one of my most frequent commenters. In fact it’s bloggers like you and Tom that I want to emulate. You guys are very engaging and I feel like I’ve known you guys for longer than I probably have. :) I think that when bloggers take the time to comment on other blogs I see them as more of an actual person and not just a series of words on my computer screen. I’d like to be that too. :D

      Thank you so much for taking the time to visit this blog and to leave comments. It’s like getting a million high-fives.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

