Skip to content

Progress Report: New Year’s Resolutions

January 23, 2012

New Year's ResolutionsThis year I decided to step up and make New Year’s Resolutions that I could actually commit to and complete. I think I’ve been doing a pretty good job of keeping track of my progress here on the blog, but since I haven’t posted about them in a while I decided to write out a short progress report. This is more for me than you guys, but what’s life without sharing? Here’s what I have so far:

January Progress Report

Completed –

Try out a new hairstyle

Done. I can’t help but feel adorable and whimsical with two braids wrapped around my head. I’m not sure whether this hairstyle is more appropriate for a summer’s day in a maxi skirt or Christmas day in a peasant frock. Let’s just agree both situations would be pretty damn cute. :3

Bonus Points: I even planned out which hairstyles I’m going to try out in the coming months on Pinterest.

Go on a date with my Mermaid.

Done. We went on a picnic and it was absolutely amazing! Oh, then we went to get some Thai food, but I guess I forgot to tell you about that. Damn, I love Thai food! … and you too, Hannah! I miss you. :)

In Progress –

Make something and write-up a tutorial.

Done, but only partly. My project is done and almost all the photos are on my camera. I just need a shot of me wearing it and I need to write-up the tutorial. I’m predicting the post will be up on Thursday or maybe even tomorrow if I kick my butt into gear!

Exercise 12 times a month.

I’m almost halfway there! So far I have exercised a total of five times out of the twelve. This is mostly my fault because I let myself take a four-day break and that totally killed my momentum. This means I’ll have to exercise seven days in a row which is punishment enough for my lack of planning! On the bright-side I get to ogle my virtual trainer and make my mom very uncomfortable. :D

Cook a new recipe.

In the early stages. Ugh! We finally have the recipe after days of me nagging Colin to get it, but it doesn’t look like we’ll have time this week to whip it up! Don’t worry though, it seems like a simple enough recipe that I’ll be able to make it and type up the recipe all on the same day. I’m just not sure if it’ll still be January…

Go on a date with Colin.

Our first plans failed. We were originally going to go to Zoolights and get hot chocolate as is our January tradition, but we were misinformed about which day it ended on and then I was too sad to want to do anything else. When I was finally up to going out and doing awesome stuff the universe decided to swamp Colin with school and work. Depending on whether Colin has a free day this week we’ll have to choose between this and the recipe… unless I can find an awesome way to combine the two! Still, the post might not be up in January. :/

Oh, Sh*t! I Forgot! –

Nothing.

I’ve been pretty good about keeping my New Year’s Resolutions in mind this month and I’m pretty proud of that. I do need to plan my time better though and start everything at the beginning of the month because then I’ll actually have time to edit pictures and type up the post before the month is up.

Lesson Learned: What calendars and planners are for. :0

Overall: I’m 33.33333333% done with 8 days left.

Oops. :/

What about you? Did you have any major projects in January? What’s your progress?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2012 11:47 pm

    Aw, how do you that? Sticking to the plans. I’ve been battling with procrastination since day 1 of this year. I suck.

    • January 24, 2012 11:18 pm

      Hahaha. It’s mostly me not wanting to be super embarrassed.
      I posted my resolutions EVERYWHERE and I told most of my loved ones.
      Now I feel the need to actually go through with what I said. :)
      I wish I had actually done this sooner.

Trackbacks

  1. The Week in Review – 01.27.12 | lifeofcarbon
  2. The Week in Review – 01.27.12 | lifeofcarbon

Leave a Reply

