Skip to content

New Year’s Resolutions

January 2, 2012

Mirror ball ornament

I’m not really the type of person who makes New Year’s Resolutions. The past few years I’ve actually been writing a letter to myself about how my life has changed and what I hope to have accomplished by the time that I read it in the coming year. This year I have decided to forgo writing myself that letter and instead write some actual resolutions right here in my little piece of cyberspace.

I made a couple of guidelines for myself to prevent me from going crazy and writing 100 super vague resolutions I had absolutely no chance of keeping.

I could make a maximum of five resolutions, but I would try to stick with three.

I am a firm believer that you should not have more resolutions than you can remember. I think three is the perfect amount because with three you can hit the major areas of improvement: finance, fitness and family. Five is a good maximum because then you can assign each resolution to a finger on your hand. Easy to remember.


I had to use definite words and numbers whenever possible.

I hate seeing resolutions like “spend less money,” “eat better,” or “read more books.” How much less money? Is $10 enough or do you want to save up enough money to travel to France for two weeks? What do you mean by “eat better.” Do you want to improve your eating skills, cut out processed food or eat better quality food? How many more books? Do trashy romance novels count or do you want to read ten literary classics? I’m pretty sure you’re more likely to fail if you don’t even know when you’ve succeeded. :0
I couldn’t make a resolution just to look good. Nothing I don’t actually want to do.

I know that the new year is supposed to be the time of year when you feel like you can change. It’s time to be the you that you’re supposed to be. The you that you wanted to be in the last year, but got bogged down by work or school. I would love to write a book, but not really. I mean it sounds super impressive and even looking at those words makes me feel amazing. An entire book, yeah I should totally write it, but nah, it’s just not who I am. Don’t let yourself make super-human resolutions because you feel like if you don’t you’re wasting the new year’s potential. Instead use that potential for something you actually want for yourself. You’ll be more likely to go through with it and that’s basically the point of even making a resolution. :D

Here’s a great post on making and keeping your New Year’s Resolutions from A Beautiful Mess that basically sums up how I feel about resolutions. :D

In 2012 I’m Going To:

1. Try 12 New Hairdos

Hair Ideas

image 1: A Beautiful Mess, image 2: Hair Romance, image 3: The Beauty Department

My hair isn’t very interesting. It’s long and black and it’s not really sure whether it’s curly or just extremely wavy and most of the time it’s kind of a pain in the ass. As much as I like to keep it down I don’t really have the patience. I hate having hair in my face and I HATE when it gets tangled in really weird places, like my purse zipper or Velcro. That is the origin of my signature bun. This year I’m on the look out for alternate hairstyles that do what my beloved bun does, but are ten times cuter and equally as simple. That may seem a little demanding, but I can’t help it… I’m a bit spoiled. ;)

Be on the look out for tons of braids and adorable up-do’s!

2. Make 12 DIY Projects

DIY inspiration

image 1: Home Made Simple, image 2: Adelyn Stone, image 3: Pinterest

I mentioned last week that I wanted to bring back DIY. I’ve always loved making things and even though I have been DIY-ing this holiday season I haven’t blogging about them. I started this blog to share my adventures in crafting, but along the way I lost sight of that. This year I vow to make 12 beautiful projects as gifts to my friends and even more importantly, to myself! :D

Be on the look out for cute projects inspired by things I probably can’t afford. :0

3. Cook 12 new recipes

Food inspiration

image 1: America’s Test Kitchen, image 2: Joy the Baker, image 3: post

Usually Colin and I make our meals whenever we hang out, but over the past few months we’ve been transitioning into a full-fledged fast-food diet. I find this incredibly sad because I love to cook and I miss doing it and also because I’m getting kind of chubby. Colin and I made a short list of recipes we’d like to share with you guys and I can’t wait. I’m really hoping that once we get back into the habit of actually cooking we won’t be able to stop. I also hope to lose the chub I’m accumulating on my face though that might not happen… some of our recipe ideas involve frying and butter… Oh well.

Be on the look out for delicious recipes that might or might not be healthy. :9

4. Exercise 12 times a month

fitness

image 1: tumblr, image 2: tumblr

I am like the least fit person I know. I can’t run a lap without feeling like somebody has filled my lungs with hot, sharp tacks. Yes, it’s really that embarrassing. Plus, even though I have good self-esteem, I feel myself getting a little pudgy (see number 3) and some of my clothes are starting to feel a little too tight. I don’t really think that there’s anything wrong with that, but I like the way I looked three months ago. Is that such a bad thing? Twelve might not seem like a lot, but it works out to me having to work out roughly three times a week (Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays). Not bad at all considering I work out NEVER!

Be on the look out for posts about me trying to find my preferred method of exercise and probably some workout playlists?

5. Go on 12 real “dates” with Colin and Hannah

Date

relevant post: The Date Book

As much as I love watching NetFlix in my pj’s I think it’s important for me to step outside my comfort zone and go outside. I know it sounds pretty terrifying, but it must be done. Also, this is a huge opportunity for me to put the Date Book to good use. Mark my word, 2012 is going to be filled with so much romance/giggling and hand-holding/friendship-bracelet-making that it’ll make your head spin! Dating is important. ‘Nuff said.

Be on the look out for short posts with [hopefully] cute pictures of me having fun outside of my house. What!

What do you think? Are you making New Year’s Resolutions this year? If not, why? If so, what are they? Do you follow guidelines or are you more of a freestyler? Let me know in the comments. :D

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2012 7:20 am

    No resolutions for me. I do like yours though. You have pretty hair so don’t knock it. What I am most interested in is all the food you and Colin will cook. I hope you post photos and recipes. The other thing is your dating. Great idea for you guys but don’t forget about Netflix altogether. Have a happy and blessed 364!

    • January 2, 2012 11:15 am

      Don’t worry, this year I’ll have my camera permanently attached to my hand. There will be tons of pictures!
      So far we have 7 recipe ideas, but I’m working on coming up with 5 more.
      This year is going to be great. :D
      I hope you have a great year too!

  2. January 3, 2012 2:36 am

    Find time for exercise (wall climbing/jogging) – that’s my main goal. :D
    All the best in 2012, Mariana.

    • January 3, 2012 6:39 pm

      Wall climbing? that sounds awesome!
      Is it hard? I think it might be fun to try.
      :)

Trackbacks

  1. The Week in Review – 01.06.12 | lifeofcarbon
  2. A Picnic with my Mermaid | lifeofcarbon
  3. The Braided Crown | lifeofcarbon
  4. Progress Report: New Year’s Resolutions | lifeofcarbon

Leave a Reply

