Skip to content

Shows I Have Been Watching in Lieu of Blogging

December 15, 2011
Image representing Netflix as depicted in Crun...

Image via CrunchBase

I haven’t really been blogging regularly over the past… well I don’t really want to think about it. I’m too ashamed to actually count the days/weeks/months, now I’m sure it wasn’t years. I feel like I owe you all an apology and an explanation so here’s the best one I can muster: it wasn’t me… it was TV.

It all started with Storage Wars, or maybe Cake Boss. I’m not exactly sure. What I am sure of though is that we can blame this all on NetFlix and none of it on me. I am just the victim. I guess if we go even further we can also blame this on Colin because he is the one who gave me the password to his NetFlix account and without it this would have never happened. Yes, lets blame Colin! :D

Like I was saying, it all started with Storage Wars or maybe Cake Boss. Then I decided to watch a couple of Wedding shows… Say Yes to the Dress, Whose Wedding Is It Anyway?, do you get the idea? The somehow I ended up watching King of the Crown and a couple of episodes of Cash in the Attic. It was all very scary, but not as scary as the single episode of Toddlers and Tiaras that I felt I absolutely had to watch. That show is pure nightmare fuel!

I then decided that I was done with reality TV and that I wanted to watch a show with an actual plot so I decided to click on the first one that caught my eye. This lead to me watching the first season of Raising Hope. I’m still not sure whether I liked it or not, but at least it didn’t give me the heebie-jeebies. This was followed by me watching Avatar: The Last Air-bender. No, not the one with the weird blue cat people, the one with the kid with the blue arrow on his head. I love that show and I have nothing bad to say about it at all. I’m really tempted to dedicate an entire post to its character development and to my thoughts about the ending, but I’m not really sure how many people would actually care to read about it.

And then, then came Sister Wives. This show has completely changed the way I view the world. Every time I see a man around more than one woman a part of me involuntarily wonders whether he’s married to all of them. Man and his wife and all her sisters. Check. Man, his wife and his older daughter. Check. Man, his wife and his mother-in-law. Check. I can’t look at groups of women in the same way ever again. It also grosses me out because I know that out there a four women who voluntarily have sex with Kody Brown (that guy is so damn creepy!) But honestly the scariest part of that show is how damn addicting it is. I want to know what happens to them damn it!

I then decided to indulge and watch Gossip Girl. Leighton Meester is probably one of the most adorably evil people I have ever had the pleasure of watching and I would have stopped watching that show ages ago if it wasn’t for Blair Waldorf. Serena Van Der Woodsen is probably number one on my list of imaginary people who I hate the most. It seems like she’s always the one causing problems yet people are always defending her and trying to make it up to her. I’m pretty sure that she should be in jail.

And now we’re back to Cake Boss. Help me people, this show is addicting!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2011 3:17 am

    Ooo! You should have been blogging. Reality TV is the bane of my existence! Oh, Mariana, how could you? Cheating on your blog with the television (smile).

    I hope all is well with you and Colin.

    • December 16, 2011 12:42 pm

      It’s not my fault. Those shows are made to be addicting!
      Don’t worry, what we have is stronger than Cake Boss. :)

Leave a Reply

