Skip to content

The Date Book

September 20, 2011

The Date Book AskingHanging out with your significant other is fun. You know, just laying on the couch and watching an episode of Arrested Development, that’s my type of fun. However, as much as I love stuffing my face full of potato chips on the couch I need to get out every one in a while. Fresh air is good for my complexion, you know. ;) So after my poor boyfriend complained to me for the 100th time that it wasn’t fair that he always had to plan our dates I decided to give the poor guy a break. Now every time that I ask him for a real date all he has to do is flip through his date book and pick out a Mariana approved date. Then we can be on our way and my skin will be eternally youthful. :)

Oh, and to add a little insult to injury, this was one of his birthday presents. If you think about it, I just gave him the gift of certainty. Getting to go on all these awesome dates is just an unintended side-effect. What? He gets to go one them too. :)

You Need:

  • A Binder
  • Page Protectors
  • Printer Paper/Card Stock
  • Date Ideas

Write/type out your date ideas on your printer paper or white card stock. I actually used regular notebook paper because I wanted to hand write everything. I thought it would add a nice personal touch and I’m very happy with how it turned out, but if you’re expecting to write a lot you might just want to stick to typing to avoid wrist pain and taking a long time. :)

The Date Book Page 1

I tried to keep a consistent layout: big title, contact information, directions, hours, prices and a personal message. I also left a space for a picture. :)

The Date Book Page 2

And then, as easy as that glue it down on to some colorful card stock and stick it in the page protector. Then stick them all in the binder and you’re done. You have at least a year of dates planned out and as long as you mix everything up you’ll never be bored!

The Date Book

Making the book is very self explanatory, the most time intensive step is actually coming up with date ideas that are original and actually fun.

Here are a few of my suggestions:

  • Try restaurants that specialize in foods that you have always wanted to try. How else do you think I wound up with an Indian place, a Vietnamese place, a Pakistani Place and a Sushi place?
  • Look up local flea markets and swap meets. They’re really fun to walk around, you might even find awesome stuff to buy.
  • Have you ever been to a Comedy Club? I haven’t, and I wasn’t able to find one that didn’t have an age limit so I’m a bit sad, but that doesn’t have to stop you. Go out and have a few laughs!
  • Look for free concerts by local musicians. You’ll usually find them listed in your local library’s community calendar.
  • Find nearby trails and go on a hike! Be careful and don’t choose one that’s too hard.
  • Find the prettiest parks in your city and then go on a picnic. I love picnics so I may be biased when I say this, but picnics are the best type of date
  • This one might sound a bit weird, but take a trip down to one of your local thrift stores and a little treasure hunting.
  • Catch a movie at the Drive-In. :D
  • And if you absolutely don’t want to go out, then don’t. Have an indoor picnic in your living room. I won’t judge you if you build a fort. Ten points if you wait until it’s dark and light a couple of candles. Hey, throw in a couple of glow in the dark stars too, just for good measure!

Here are a few resources to help save you time I’ll just leave this list here:

  • Use Yelp to find reviews of anything from clubs to restaurants to spas.
  • Use Urban Spoon to discover new restaurants in your area.
  • Visit your state’s official website. The tourism section is a goldmine of events and attractions that you might have overlooked.
  • If all else fails, ask your friends what their favorite places are.

You know yourself better than I do, so you know what kind of dates you want to go on. I like walking and looking at things a lot. I also love eating. So our date book is full of museums, antique shops, malls and restaurants. Your date book might be full of beautiful parks to picnic at, trails to hike and maybe some smoothie bars. Yeah, I’m just assuming that you’re healthier and more active than I am. :)

If this totally isn’t your jam, here’s the post that inspired me to make it easier for Mr. Colin. Have fun on all your awesome dates and let me know your tried and true favorites in the comments! :D

Leave a Reply

