Skip to content

Happy 201st Birthday Mexico

September 16, 2011
Coat of arms of Mexico.

Image via Wikipedia

Today, September 16th, is the day that we celebrate the Mexican Independence. If you find yourself scoffing at that statement and saying, “Oh my goodness, this girl so dumb. Everyone knows that their independence day is on the 5th of May, Cinco de Mayo, duh!” Don’t worry, it’s just a rookie mistake. I’ll just leave this right here:

[On] September 16, the peasants from the surrounding area responded to the ringing of the church bell. They gathered in the courtyard of the church, were Father Hidalgo inspired them with a fiery cry: “Long live religion!, Long live Our Lady of Guadalupe! Long live the Americas and death to the corrupt government!”. This was the famous GRITO which triggered the long struggle for independence. The Cry of independence is repeated again and again, every year, in Mexico City from the balcony of the National Place in Mexico by the President of Mexico, and it is echoed by the governor of each state throughout the country. via “El Grito” (the Cry) : Mexico Culture & Arts.

Now, we don’t really celebrate the Grito each year (and by we I mean my family and not all of the Mexican peoples), but I feel like maybe we should start. The same way that we show our gratitude to the US for giving us a bounty of opportunities we should acknowledge our roots in Mexico. So this year this is my small tribute to my second country

I love Mexico for being not only my country, but also the country that birthed my ancestors. In it I see my family traditions, I see our history and I see all the yummy food that my mom cooks and that I could not live without. I love Mexico because it is part of who I am and without it I would not be the same. I may no longer live there, but it still lives in me and I will always love it in the way that you can only love the country of your origins.

Happy 201st Birthday Mexico, I’ll try to keep you alive in my heart for as long as I live.

Leave a Reply

