Skip to content

Confessions – I Have Hoarding Tendencies

September 8, 2011
Hoarding Packaging

Hoarding PackagingI think I may have some slight hoarding tendencies. Heck, I totally failed the hoarding test.

I still have the box from my DS Lite, as well as all the original packaging. I have receipts from six years ago. I have the packaging from a basketball I gave to Colin a year ago for Christmas under my bed. I still have worksheets from way back to 9th grade.

I like to think that this is just me being prepared. I mean, what if I need to return something? What if I need my 10th grade math notes? It could happen, don’t judge me.

But this isn’t about whether or not I am a hoarder, it’s about what I would hoard if I just happened to be one.

Hoarding Packaging 2

I really, really like stuff. I love wanting it, touching it, buying it. So it makes sense that if I was a hoarder, which I am totally not, I would hoard packaging. Not just the boxes though, I would keep everything! The twisty-ties, the “egg-carton” type trays, the plastic bags, and all the cellophane. Hell, I would even keep the receipts, the plastic bags and the bar code stickers. Anything to remind me of all the awesome stuff that I have, can’t throw any of that away!

Hoarding Packaging 3

It would start [has it already???] innocently with me just saving a few receipts or boxes as mementos. Oh yes, I would only keep important receipts like the ones from a really fun trip to Disneyland or from my trips to different states. I would only keep important boxes and only for storage purposes, like for a computer or for a game console. But then things would take a turn for the worse [why do they have to?] and I would begin stealing packaging from the dumpsters behind local stores. I need 10 empty fruit crates, damn it! How else am I supposed to remember that I love fruit? I will justify it by explaining to myself and to my family that I will become a millionaire in my old age after selling them. I watch Antique’s Roadshow, don’t think I’m stupid! Why doesn’t anybody understand that?

It’s all hypothetical, I assure you.

Save yourselves! I’m afraid it’s simply too late for me!

*** This was my first attempt at one of Mama Kat’s Writing Prompts:
2.) If you were a hoarder, based on your personality…what would you hoard? (better yet, ask someone who knows you well, what they think you would hoard). ***
7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2011 10:19 am

    Love Love! I hope its not too late for me.

  2. September 8, 2011 12:36 pm

    Too funny … love that you have actual photographic documentation of your hoarding … err, saving. :)

    Visiting from Mama K’s :)

  3. September 8, 2011 12:46 pm

    My mom saves boxes for everything! She still has the box for her mixer she got when she got married in 1967!!!! So I like it, its not hoarding. Its being prepared!

  4. September 9, 2011 10:41 am

    I save shipping materials! What if I don’t have packing peanuts and I have to pack something FRAGILE??!?!

  5. September 10, 2011 3:02 pm

    I call myself a “collector”
    I also save shipping materials – they make great “camouflage” for Christmas presents!

  6. September 11, 2011 6:04 pm

    You are crazy! If you were my neighbor I have no doubt you’d find hoards of good stuff to salvage from our garbage. ;) I toss all of that stuff as soon as the items are out of the packages.

  7. September 11, 2011 6:25 pm

    Hmm, I may have a spot that resembles that. I’ll have to check it out. Tomorrow.
    And those receipts? If you lose one, you can be sure, that is the item that needs returned.
    Stopping by from MamaKat’s.

Leave a Reply

