Skip to content

Calabacitas Cremosas — Creamy Zucchini

March 30, 2011

This isn’t really the best dish for Spring, it’s warm and it’s substantial. Not really something you’re looking for when it’s warm outside, but it does make great comfort food and that’s definitely what I needed today.

We usually have it as a side dish, but I like to bend the rules.

Let’s Get Cookin’

The Essentials:

  • 1/4 of an onion
  • 2 grey zucchini
  • 1/2 of a tomato
  • 1 cup of corn (I used frozen, it’s what we had)
  • 1/4 cup of cream cheese (I used less than that, but I’m not sure how much)
  • 1/4 cup of milk

Completely Optional:

  • 4 slices of Canadian bacon  (or your favorite meat)
  • red pepper flakes
  • mushrooms <– I didn’t have any, but I definitely recommend them. Always.

Start off by melting some butter, then throw in your onions. This is the perfect time to throw in your red pepper flakes too.

Dice up your zucchini and throw those puppies in.

Add in your choice of meat in about 2 minutes after you put in your zucchini.

I should probably take the time to state the obvious and let you know that the meat you’re using should already be cooked.

This is a good way to use leftover meat. :D

It’s nice and steamy.

After your meat warms up and looks a little seared, toss in your corn, tomatoes and your cream cheese.  I recommend cubing up your cream cheese before you add it in.

Pour in your milk (it should almost cover your zucchini just like in the picture above) and then reduce to a simmer. I let mine simmer for around 2 minutes, I was too hungry to wait for more.

I love watching things bubble. :)

I’m drooling all over again.

As always, I like to top everything off with some cheese.

You can eat your calabacitas cremosas with a fork or a spoon, but my preferred way of enjoying them is with a toasty corn tortilla.

They make a perfect pair.

I like this dish with either ham or shredded chicken, but don’t let me tell you how to live your life. Experiment and let me know if you make any new flavor discoveries!

This is truly a great comfort dish. It’s a little sweet and a little savory, plus it’s done very quickly. It’s perfect for a rainy day. I hear those are common during Spring, but I wouldn’t really know. I live in the middle of a desert.  ;)

Linking here

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 7:07 pm

    This looks so yummy! I am always looking for a new zucchini recipe since we seem to have an abundance during summer (from our garden and thru our CSA). I’m bookmarking this and lookng forward to trying it. Found you over at SYS.
    Jen
    Scissors & Spatulas

  2. March 31, 2011 4:39 am

    This looks so good…I filed the recipe!

  3. April 2, 2011 8:09 am

    This looks amazing. Super simple and delicious…just how I like it! If you get a sec, pop on over to Foodie Friday and link up! Oh, and I found you on Tatertots and Jello! :)

  4. Benita Fox permalink
    April 2, 2011 8:28 pm

    I love the colors of it. It looks yummy.

    Benita

  5. April 4, 2011 3:44 pm

    This looks soooo good! I am definitely giving this recipe a try!

Trackbacks

  1. Reasons to Cook – Tzatziki | lifeofcarbon
  2. This Year: 2011 | lifeofcarbon

Leave a Reply

