Skip to content

The Five-Minute Necklace

March 28, 2011

I don’t like to waste. No not at all. Especially not things that I treasure, like that hand crocheted lace that I used here.

No, never something that special.

So I decided to put some of the left-over to good use.

And this is what I ended up with:

Pretty, no?

I think it’s pretty obvious why I call this the five-minute necklace. Those five minutes include me finding the material. I’m very serious. I don’t lie about things of this great importance.

Make sure that you have lace with big enough gaps to weave a ribbon through.

I wanted to make sure that the colors went well.

If you don’t have a needle with an eye big enough for ribbon, you can use a bobby-pin.

You can use it exactly like a needle, just weave in an out in your desired pattern.

And then pull through.

Once you’re done weaving completely, make sure that your strands are the same length.

You can be done now…

or you can scrunch up your lace. I like this look a lot better.  Either tie your ribbon off when you’re done, or stitch it in place.

I like fastening this necklace on by just tying a bow, but you can also stitch on clasps.

It’s like you’re ready for a party!

This might not be my necklace from yesterday, but I’m definitely in love with this one too.

Linking here
6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2011 8:26 am

    super sweet. Came over from todays creative blog. I am so down for quick and easy projects!

  2. April 2, 2011 7:17 am

    I wasn’t too sure about this when I clicked on it but you pulled it off really well! I really like it! I’d love to have you link this to my VIP party today! http://designergarden.blogspot.com/2011/03/vip-party-9.html

  3. April 3, 2011 10:40 am

    That is so adorable; such a good idea for using up excess lace.

  4. April 7, 2011 5:08 am

    Great idea! It looks wonderful on you!

Trackbacks

  1. This Year: 2011 | lifeofcarbon

Leave a Reply

