Skip to content

Sopitas de Tortilla

March 20, 2011

AKA delicious Tortilla Frittata Thing! I’m not actually sure what to call it. I mean, other than delicious because it certainly was. :)

I remember my mom making this for me when I was a little girl and again when I was not so little. It’s truly one of my favorite breakfast dishes to make because it’s only as complicated as you make it. You can add as many little extras as you want or none at all and it’ll still be delicious. Plus it’s really quick, that’s always a plus when you’re as impatient as I am.

Let’s Get Cookin’

The essentials:

  • 4-5 corn tortillas per person
  • 1-2 eggs per person

Completely optional:

  • green onions (because we didn’t have regular onions on hand)
  • green and red bell peppers
  • sour cream
  • mozzarella cheese (you can use your favorite type, of course)
  • our favorite salsa, homemade pico de gallo

This is the perfect way to clean out your fridge since the only necessary ingredients are the eggs and the corn tortillas. Without those you can’t have sopitas de tortilla. Don’t like onions? Don’t add them. Can I add in some mushrooms? Of course! Great idea! :D

Now let’s get cookin’.

Cut your tortillas into squares.

Make your boyfriend chop up the onions and assure him that he’s the best sous chef that you’ve ever had.

Coat the bottom of your pan with oil and toss in your tortillas. Move them around and make sure that they’re all lightly coated with oil. If not, add more oil.

Let your tortillas get golden and toasty. We don’t want soggy sopitas de tortilla.

Now we can toss in the onions and the peppers or whatever you decided to add in.

I like my peppers slightly crunchy. You do what you like.

Prepare yourself to beat the eggs.

Scramble them, show them who’s boss!

Add in your eggs. Make sure you spread them around all around the pan. We want our tortillas to be covered.

Now we wait for the eggs to cook. You should probably take the time to season with some salt and pepper.

After the eggs are cooked turn off the heat and add in your cheese. Stop yourself from eating directly out of the pan, or don’t. There’s no shame in it.

Top your delicious breakfast with a dollop of sour cream, your favorite salsa and some green onions for garnish. Then dig in like nobody’s watching, you earned this delicious breakfast.

If you’re drawing a blank on what to add to your sopitas de tortilla here are some suggestions to get you started: shredded chicken, ham, turkey, ground beef, jalapenos, mushrooms, tomatoes, avocado

Now come up with your own! :)

Linking here

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2011 11:31 am

    That looks wonderful! It’s going on my meal plan for dinner this week!

  2. March 20, 2011 1:15 pm

    How fabulous!!! I love the idea of the chopped tortillas along with the veggie-tastic frittata! =) it looks sooooo delish!

  3. March 23, 2011 6:18 am

    Oh my gosh! This looks delicious! I want some right now. I am making this one for sure. It would be great for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Thanks for sharing.
    xo,
    Sena

    • March 24, 2011 7:25 pm

      Oh goodness yes. This is a great dish anytime and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
      I would love to hear from you when you do try it. I’m always striving to improve my recipes. :D

  4. March 24, 2011 9:52 am

    I am licking my screen this looks so fantastic! thanks for linking! I’ll be featuring this on BCD on March 27th! Love your site!

    • March 24, 2011 7:24 pm

      Haha. Thank you. I hope you enjoy this dish as much as I did!
      I just had a mini giggle attack after reading your comment. I love your site as well, I’ve been following you and getting tons of inspiration. :D
      This is definitely an honor.

  5. March 25, 2011 7:46 am

    This is PERFECT for my new linky party, Foodie Friday. I am dying for some Mexican food – it is one of my meal staples!! Please stop on over and link up!

    • March 25, 2011 4:13 pm

      Oh my gosh, thanks for telling me. I’ll definitely link up! :)
      I totally know what you mean about Mexican food.
      I hope you try this out, it’s delicious! :D

  6. March 30, 2011 12:15 pm

    ohh,, this sounds delicious. Will be trying this out for sure.. thanks for sharing,, found you over at BlueCricketDesign. (i love that your stove eyes are covered in foil,, I seriously thought I was the only one who did that..lol)

  7. March 31, 2011 2:59 pm

    That looks great! I have tortillas that have been sitting that this would be perfect for! Also, I have to share…when I went to college (gods, a decade + ago) my mom gave me 4 plates and 4 bowls to go with me. They were the pattern you have. I still have them and just bought my own set of new plates and bowls to have and hopefully in the future send a few with my kids to college. It made me feel nostalgic!

Trackbacks

  1. How to make a perfect tortilla de patatas « Vida London
  2. How to make a tortilla de patatas « Vida London
  3. This Year: 2011 | lifeofcarbon
  4. New Year’s Resolutions | lifeofcarbon

Leave a Reply

