Skip to content

#31DNP Day 1 – Let’s Go to the Mall

September 1, 2012
Red Polka Dot Manicure

Red Polka Dot Shorts Manicure

For this manicure I was going to go with just the color, but it seemed too boring (this is a nail art challenge) so I scanned my room for inspiration. My eyes landed on the red polka dot shorts that I was planning to wear to the mall later. Perfect! I started with two coats of Essie Forever Young, not that the second coat was necessary this polish is opaque yo! Then I just dotted away with my Sally Hansen nail art pen. I was going to do a full polka dot, but I felt like that might be too much so I just did a polka dot accent nail and then some polka dot half-moons. Topped it off my Sally Hansen Insta Dri Top Coat, Clearly Quick and presto! Ready to photograph!

Red Polka Dot Manicure

Confession Time: I don’t like red nail polish. *gasp*

I know, I know. Red is the quintessential feminine nail polish. It’s classic and it will never go out of style. Blah blah blah. In my opinion those are all ways to say it’s  tad boring* and it totally is, at least in my opinion. That’s why in my collection I only have a total of three reds: this one, Sinful Colors Under 18 (I almost didn’t count this one because it seems like too much of a Christmas color) and Essie Silken Cord. Maybe in a few years I’ll learn to appreciate red as a polish choice, maybe I’ll find the perfect shade of red that calls to me and demands I wear it constantly! Until then I guess  I’ll just have to jazz it up with a little bit of nail art.

*Except for red glitter! I covet it like no other nail polish! I can only talk about it in exclamation marks! Everyday that goes by that I don’t have a red glitter in my collection is a great injustice!

So what do you think? Nailed It or Failed It?What do you think about red? Where does your inspiration come from?

31 Day Nail Art ChallengeIf you want to join you can get an awesome 31 Day Challenge Graphic courtesy of Chalkboard Nails and post your entries over at Polished Criminals so that everyone else can see them!


One Comment leave one →
  1. September 2, 2012 10:44 am

    <3 super cute!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

