Skip to content

This Year: 2011

December 29, 2011
Twenty-Eleven is coming to a close and I feel that like most bloggers I’m entitled to do a recap post. I know that this year has been a roller coaster in terms of me posting, but I feel like overall it was a good year. I made so many mistakes, but now I know that it’s not the end of the world if I forget to post for two whole months. The internet will always here and there is no actual punishment for being a negligent blogger (please don’t come up with one). I think looking back is a good way to make note of which posts worked and which didn’t. It’s also a way to see if this blog is heading in a direction I like and it’s the perfect time to change course if I please. That being said here’s 2011 in a nutshell:

Top 10 Posts

Here are the top 10 posts on lifeofcarbon for the year of 2011. Some I expected to be on this list and some I was completely flabbergasted.

This Year 20111. America’s Next Top Model: All Stars – What the Heck?
I didn’t even want to write this post. Honest to goodness. I almost didn’t even hit publish. Even though the show did turn out to be a bit of a disappointment I’m still glad I posted this. The world must know what I think about TV shows!
2. Sopitas de Tortilla
This is one of my favorite foods of all time and this post is probably my favorite recipe I’ve written. Sure, the pictures aren’t edited and there are probably typos that I still haven’t caught, but I still love it. It’s one of my eldest babies. <3
3. Crap I Want Wednesday No. 2 – Animal Style
Yeah, I don’t really understand why the heck this post is on this list. Is it the burger? The fridgeezoo pets? The giant gummi bear? It’s the dapper raccoon, isn’t it?
This Year 2011.2
4. Are You There Spring? Tank Top Refashion
I would like to take a moment to thank this list for reminding me that I own this shirt. Now I can’t wait until it’s warm enough to wear it. Such is the power of the internet.
5 and 6. A New Dress For Bambi (part 3) and A New Dress For Bambi (part 1)
This is my second favorite post. I had so much fun writing it and I’m so proud that it was featured on One Pretty Thing. I guess this means it’s time for me to make Bambi another dress, huh?
This Year 2011.3
7. Calabacitas Cremosas — Creamy Zucchini
I don’t really know what to say other than you should make these. There’s a reason they’re on this list!
8. The Five-Minute Necklace
Still pretty relevant. Make this for New Year’s Eve!
9. A New Dress For Bambi (part 2)
I summed it up already. Please don’t make me type more. :[
10. Pleats are Sweet
This post was in my drafts for more than a month. I wasn't going to post it because I was so embarrassed now I'm really glad that I did. I like to think that this is a good tutorial if you need help pleating. Feel free to check it out. :D
Lesson Learned: Take a chance and post something you aren't super sure about. It might just be one of your most popular posts! Disclaimer: as long as it isn't terribly written. ;)

Top 5 Searches

Here are the top 5 searches on lifeofcarbon for the year 2011. They're pretty eye-opening.

antm cycle 17 -------> 810 views
leopard loafers -------> 72 views
antm cycle 17 all stars -------> 48 views
antm cycle 17 group photo -------> 41 views
headband tutorial -------> 35 views

I guess this explains why my post about America's Next Top Model was number one. :)

Lesson Learned: If you're getting a lot of searches for a certain thing maybe you should write about it some more. Just make sure it's something you enjoy!

Weirdest Searches

While looking through this blog's search history I came across some really weird search terms I thought you guys would enjoy. I'm not really sure how most of these terms got people to my blog, but who am I to complain. A view is a view. ;

immagini sciarpa cappuccio
branch tree
horses jumping really high
hose filled bambi part 2
prehistoric raccoon
i want more apples
courgette pig revenge
motionsicknessveryeasily
asking date
colin baker calzone
Unknown search terms -------> 78 views

I know that unknown search terms aren't explicitly weird, but think about it like this: someone felt the need to look that up in private mode on their browser. It must have been dirty or at least a little weird...

Lesson Learned: GIVE THE PEOPLE WHAT THEY'RE ASKING FOR! I now have to teach Colin to bake calzones and... I don't even know. :P

The Reflection Part

Lifeofcarbon isn't supposed to be about just one thing. Technically it is, it's about me, but "me" includes so much. I love making food and various things, I really love clothes and thrifting, taking pictures of my dog and I love going on adventures. I really want this blog to be about my journey through life and so far I feel like we're going in that direction. :)

I want to bring back Shop My Closet and My Thrifty Finds. More DIYs and more recipes. I want to keep vlogging and I want to keep telling you guys about what I saw on the internet and all of the miscellaneous "crap" that I want. Oh, and my Life List! I can't wait to share it with you guys and hopefully encourage you to make your own!

I want to do this because that's who I am and that's what makes me happy. I'm so excited to ring in the New Year with you guys and I can't wait to make this blog so much better!

Cheers! *<]:D

PS: I would love to hear your thoughts. What can I do to improve lifeofcarbon?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

