Skip to content

Bossypants

September 22, 2011

Bossypants Cover

I went to the library with the intention of picking up The Catcher in the Rye, and only The Catcher in the Rye, but like any other healthy human being who loves to read and isn’t very good at knowing their limits I left with two other the books, one of them being Bossypants. Now I’m not saying that three books is entirely too much to read in a span of three weeks, in fact younger me would probably call me a loser and then attempt to confiscate my library card for ever thinking that, it’s just I don’t really have the attention span right now to do so. I’m betting it has to do with things like the internet and TV. They’re ruining me I swear. :o

Well, anyways…. I picked up Bossypants, Tina Fey‘s autobiography?/memoir? [I'm actually not sure since it doesn't read like either and it's to incomplete to be either of the two]. If you don’t know who Tina Fey is I’m not really sure how you managed to accomplish that, click on her name and be enlightened. :) I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect and the cover didn’t exactly help, but I knew that I’d at least get a couple of laughs out of it. Mission Accomplished.

I read it all in one sitting on Saturday, September 10, 2011 and I’m writing about it today 12 days later. If you haven’t already read this book then read on to see all the reasons why you should and if you’ve already read it, then feel free to correct all my mistakes.

The Numbers:

Title: Bossypants

Author: Tina Fey

Released: April 5, 2011

Number of Pages: 275. Technically 277 if you read the acknowledgements. Read the damn acknowledgements! It’s the least you can do.

Number of Chapters: 25, the introduction is not a chapter. :P

Number of Words: Too many for this poor girl to count.

Times I Laughed Out Loud: I lost count, but just to be safe I’ll go with 100. It’s a pretty safe estimate.

Times I Cried: Three. Once I laughed so hard that I cried, the other two I was just feeling emotional. Tina is one of my BFF’s

How Long It Took Me to Read It: ~3-5 hours [less than a day]

My Favorite Chapter: The one where she explains why photo shoot are the most amazing thing ever! Though the one where she writes a letter to the internet and the one about her honeymoon were pretty up there as well.

Breaking it down:

The Good

  • I learned a lot about Tina Fey, primarily because I knew so little about her to begin with.
  • It was a quick read. Unlike Mark Twain’s autobiography.
  • Tina Fey has a great voice. The entire time that I was reading I felt like she was right there with me, telling me her story face-to face.
  • I laughed. A LOT.

The Bad

  • Now I want to know even more about Tina. Her stories about SNL and 30 Rock left me wanting more. It makes sense though that she made the book more about herself and less about her job.
  • It was a quick read. Unlike Mark Twain’s autobiography.
  • I missed Tina after I was done with the book. I was completely immersed in her life in such a quick amount of time that after it was all gone I felt a bit disoriented.

My Thoughts [with as few spoilers as possible]:

As you can tell I liked Bossypants, I liked it a lot. I want to say that I’m not exactly sure why I like it so much to give myself some leeway just in case the rest of the world completely disagrees with me, but that would just be sad. I like Bossypants because I like Tina Fey. There I said it. It’s the same reason why it’s so easy to like your friend’s writing. You stop looking for all the mistakes and you just take it for what it is: their attempt at self-expression.

I think Tina nailed it. She struck some chord deep inside me which made me relate to her. She wrote like herself, a human being. She isn’t trying to be super serious, she isn’t trying to be inspirational, she’s just retelling her story and trying to make sense as to how she got to where she is. This book isn’t about Lorne Michaels, it isn’t about Alec Baldwin or Oprah either. It’s about Tina and that’s all it needs to be.

She’s honest about her past, being skinny, being fat, Photoshop, photo-shoots, being a boss, being a working mother, wanting more children, not wanting more children, and her “last five minutes of fame.” I appreciate her honesty. I appreciate the fact that she’s a normal person, albeit a hilarious one. I appreciate her taking the time to write this book, maybe a little bit more than I should. ;)

All in all, I give Bossypants two thumbs up. Tina, if you’re ever in Arizona and need someone to listen to your jokes I’m your gal. :)

What about you? Have you read Bossypants? Do you want to? What was your favorite part? Am I completely delusional?

Want to Read More?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

