Skip to content

Zip it!

April 25, 2011
DSC05540

I bought this crazy romper a while ago and it’s been sitting in my closet yearning to be worn.

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love it and its crazy pattern, but the buttons are a huge pain in the B-U-T-T!

Yup, huuuggggeee pain, big enough to break grammar rules.

I’ve been thinking about adding a zipper to it the past week because I really, really wanted to wear it, but I’ve never worked with zippers. Zippers are terrifying and mysterious. Plus they have really creepy looking teeth and they’re probably plotting to take over the planet.

They can, however, be tamed. Or at least silenced for a little bit.

Let me walk you through my attempt. Hopefully you’ll gain the confidence to tackle your own zipper-insecurities.

Let’s Get Craftin’

You’ll need:

  • A zipper (make sure to get the right size!)
  • Something to install the zipper into (ie: a very stylin’ romper)
  • Scissors (obviously)
  • Courage

Take a deep breath.

If it’s your first time, make sure that what you’re about to tailor is not your most beloved and priced possession, just in-case.

Turn your garment inside out and find where you want to insert your zipper.

I decided to insert my zipper right on the side and luckily there was a seam right there! :D

Use your zipper to measure how much you’ll need to cut and mark it!

My next move was to open up that seam.

I don’t have a seam ripper (birthday present anyone?) so I used scissors to cut my thread.

The main thing to remember is to only cut the thread. Just cut and pull. Don’t go past your mark or you’ll have to resew your seam for no reason. :0

I always started at my mark and worked backwards to make sure that I wouldn’t accidentally rip too far.

I’m known to lose focus and make those kinds of mistakes. Oops. :)

Cut, cut, cut.

Pull, pull, pull.

Look at all the thread we pulled!

The directions that come with the zipper said to work with the garment inside out, but that was too much for my little mind to handle.

It was too disorienting so I just nestled in my zipper and got pinning!

Speaking of pins, I’m on pinterest! Did you know?
 

I found this easy because your seam is already pressed. Just fold it under and pin. :P

It feels so nice to be done with that.

I recommend that you try on whatever you’re trying to tailor. If you’re careful you won’t get pricked and your pins won’t fall out.

It’s nice because you can see if the zipper will truly work.

If it doesn’t, damage control will be a lot easier. You’ll only have to unpin and sew it up, instead of having to take the zipper out and… well hopefully you get it.

I used the thread I pulled out to pick the perfect color for my stitches.

The last step should be pretty self explanatory. :)

You tackled zippers and came out triumphant!

Take that zippers!

Trust me, now you’re ready for anything you sassy, little thing.  :)

linking here: Today’s Creative Blog, iheartnaptime, here
 
4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2011 8:25 am

    Thank you so much for sharing this – I’m currently staring at a sundress pattern that is intimidating me. Your tutorial has helped me feel a little more brave :)

    Found you via Today’s Creative Blog and am a new follower. I would love if you’d check out http://www.decoratingdiy.blogspot.com and follow me!

    Kristen
    Turning a House into a Home

    • April 26, 2011 8:11 pm

      I’m really glad that this helped you. :)
      I was really intimidated at first too, but don’t worry you’ll do great. It’s easy-peasy. :)
      I’ll definitely check you out.

  2. April 27, 2011 7:11 am

    I would LOVE to have you link up to my Whassup Wednesday Par-Tay! And I have a party button you can grab and put on your blog so your friends can come too:)

    If you are NOT already a Follower of Elements Interiors….HELLEEERRRR!

    Click that Google Follow button and YOU will be ENTERED in my

    “Its a SURPRISE!” GIVEAWAY to be announced EVERY MONDAY! Yeppers! You read it right,

    a Winner EVERY MONDAY!!! With GREAT Goodies you wont want to miss!!

    Hope to see ya at Whassup Wednesday!!!

    *ENTER LINKY PAR-TAY Here! *

    xoxokara

  3. May 1, 2011 8:01 am

    I’ve been too afraid to attempt this- ha ha! Thanks for the great tute!! We would ♥ for you to show this off at our link party!

    Lolly Jane

    http://lollyjaneboutique.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

