Skip to content

A New Dress For Bambi (part 2)

March 15, 2011
Before
If you’re just joining us you might want to look at : A New Dress For Bambi (part 1)

Wow, that took longer than I expected. Not the dress-making part, but the actual getting down to business. In actuality the dress shouldn’t take more than a couple of hours to finish if you’re using a sewing machine. I decided to hand sew and it took me around 4 – 4 1/2 hours and it probably would’ve taken less if I wasn’t so easily distracted.

I’ll definitely be making most of Bambi’s dresses in the future. It’s a fun way to kill a few hours, but maybe I don’t understand what fun is supposed to be. Either way, let’s get down to business!

Assembling Your Dress!

You need:

  • Fabric. I recommend a knit fabric because it’s stretchy and it’s easier to move around in. If you don’t understand what I mean, just choose a fabric similar to the one that your original dress was made out of.
  • Scissors. Fabric scissors would be the best, but don’t fret, I used cheap-o scissors from the dollar store and mine still turned out great.
  • Tailor’s chalk/a pencil/water soluble pen to mark your fabric (I actually used some soap)
  • Pins, they’re not absolutely necessary, but they are incredibly helpful
  • A cute puppy to try the dress on :)

I used an old shirt for fabric. It wasn’t really my style anymore, but it still had some life in it. Plus the cute flower patterns were perfect for my little Bambi.  Make sure to wash your fabric before using it, this will prevent it from shrinking afterward and it’ll make sure that the colors don’t run.

If you’re following my example you’ll want to cut the shirt apart into separate pieces, if not then ignore this part.

Warning: Before you begin to cut apart anything make sure that the shirt or whatever else you’re using will yield enough fabric to make a dress. Fold your fabric in half and put your pattern on it. Will there be enough room? Can you barely cut out enough? Use your best judgment, we all make mistakes and you definitely want more than just enough fabric just in case you happen to make one.

I cut the front piece apart from the back piece and then proceeded to cut away the flowered fabric from the green fabric. You’ll probably have different steps depending on what shirt you’re using. Do this the same way that you cut apart your puppy’s dress in part 1, by cutting away the seams.

I decided to use the back as the base for my dress. Turn your fabric so that the side you want to show is on the bottom. As you can see in my picture the inside of my shirt is facing up. That’s because I want the other side to be the outside of my dress.

If you’re still confused look at both sides of your fabric. One side is vibrant and pretty the other side is probably a lot duller and not the color you want you dress to be. Place the fabric so that the dull side is facing up. Now you’ve got it!

From now on that vibrant, pretty side will be called the Right Side and the dull side that we don’t like so much will be called the Wrong Side. Got it? Good!

Fold your fabric so that the wrong side is facing up and put your pattern on top of it. Make sure the edge of your pattern matches up with the folded edge of your fabric like in the picture below. Then trace, of course! Make sure to use something that you’ll be able to see clearly and something that will wash out of your fabric. I used a very skinny piece of soap.

Now cut out your fabric and lay it out according to the original layout. Wrong side facing up of course.

Pin the pieces together with the Right Sides facing in and then sew.

You could of course be done now. All you have to do is hem the bottom, the neck and the leg holes then close it up, but where’s the fun in that?

Come back again to learn how to take your dress from plain and simple to simply adorable.

:)

Now you can move on to: A New Dress For Bambi (part 3)

Linking here
2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2011 3:08 pm

    With all the doggone snow we have gotten recently I am stuck indoors, fortunately there is the internet, thanks for giving me something to do. :)

Trackbacks

  1. This Year: 2011 | lifeofcarbon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

